Selection of studies composed by

Helmuth Steniczka

(Austria, 8.6.1928 - 4.1.1993)


Ingenieur Helmuth Steniczka was Austrian Chessmaster and began composing in 1958. He paused in the early 1970s, before composing again in 1989 until his death.
Apart from a few exceptions, he concentrated on the informal tournament in "Schachecho", "Tidskrift för Schack", "Schach" and "Springaren".
Some of his studies were published only after his death, and in this time he had his greatest success: 6 distinction in the "Schach 1991-1992"
informal tournament with three prizes, overpowering the great study composer Kasparjan.
About his studies:
Hellmuth Steniczka had a high claim to quality and
was therefore not a very productive

A beautiful puzzle by Austrian chess master Helmuth Steniczka, 4th prize. Schach 1991-2 is commented on Youtube:


(All his studies, more exact dates, possible corrections or cooks and exact details about sources can be found in the

Harold van der Heijden database V (31-12-2015) ).

Studies  selected by Peter Krug.

12.4.2016, 3 more studies added, selected (and corrected) by Peter Krug.

More studies can be replayed of this composer at this page:

Helmuth Steniczka studies page-2

You first have to register and login

Login or Register